RSS

Abstract Thought and Authenticity – part one

24 Sep

        “Falling under the influence of mass opinion, we become inauthentic because we neither seek nor create what is most meaningful to us as individuals.  When we live the way everyone else does, think the way everyone else thinks, and hold the same values everyone else holds, we do not use our freedom to create ourselves as unique individuals; instead we become slaves to a communal standard that more often than not, is mediocre and repressive.”                                                       Linda Patrik – Existentialist Literature

 

In the past I tried to tackle some abstract ideas, but I merely scratched the surface.  For every published post, there are three or four incomplete drafts.  I ask myself, and all who read this, is it necessary to complete an abstract thought?  In fact, is it not a sign of arrogance to claim complete understanding of an abstract idea? Indeed, such a claim is counterproductive; limiting the possibility for deeper revelation.  As I am on a quest for enlightenment, I shall endeavor to avoid the intellectual trap of arrogance. I hope that some of my half-thoughts compliment the half-thoughts of another.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 24, 2011 in Confessions, philosophy

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Abstract Thought and Authenticity – part one

  1. nrhatch

    October 1, 2011 at 9:24 AM

    I often write posts that does lightly brush the surface . . . giving visitors ample latitude to share their thoughts.

    An example:
    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2011/09/30/whats-the-use-of-worrying/

     
 
