RSS

Alphabet Fiction

14 Jun

I mentioned something I have named ‘Alphabet Fiction’ a while back.  Well, now I am going to expand on it a little bit.

As you may know, I have a slight obsession with the dictionary.  My Handy-Dandy is a source of comfort, security and wisdom.  Oftentimes, it is also a source of inspiration.  Some of you may remember The Dictionary Distraction (https://missfionna.wordpress.com/2010/03/31/the-dictionary-distraction/) well, Alphabet Fiction follows a similar thought process.

Choose 5 – 10 words that begin with the same letter.  Even better if they are within the same dictionary page.

Use the definitions of these words to create a story line.

The title of the story MUST begin with the same letter as the words chosen. (the main title word… not ‘A’ or ‘The’, etc.)

The idea is based on flash fiction (500 words or less) but I bet that longer works could easily be developed using this technique.  I haven’t tried anything longer… but one day I will make that attempt.

I am interested to know if anyone gives it a try.  I am on outline phase with “D”.

Hope all is well,

Fionna


 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 14, 2010 in Confessions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Alphabet Fiction

  1. nancycurteman

    June 22, 2010 at 7:50 AM

    Neat idea. I’ll try it. It would also be highly motivating to middle school kids—a way to encourage writing.

     
  2. Richard W Scott

    June 14, 2010 at 7:22 PM

    Sounds like fun!

     
  3. Debbie Lamedman

    June 14, 2010 at 7:21 PM

    This is a fantastic writing exercise Fionna! It reminds me of when we all used to have those word magnets on the frig and we randomly pick 5 or 6 words and created “magnetic poetry.” I think I like this writing exercise better! I will confess, I love the dictionary too! 🙂

     
 
