RSS

Media Misunderstanding and Modern Inspiration

28 May

I firmly stand by the idea of Escapism…. especially when I don’t like myself very much.  I have been irritating myself recently, delving into self-pity more than usual, and that is just a waste of time.  So, as a way to occupy a few hours of my time, I decided to watch a movie.

One thing that I am not sure I have mentioned before:  I take movies VERY seriously.  I give myself over to the story completely, I take no aspect of the creative process for granted.  I savor lighting, camera angle, score, dialogue…. ALL OF IT.  I view movies as vehicles for emotional exploration.  To me, there is no such thing as a bad movie, for that label is much to vague.  Much like every other statement or opinion, I want support and specifics.  There are very few movies out there that I honestly view as ‘perfect’.

When I feel like my life is difficult or that I am fighting against terrible odds, the true obstacle is (as Richard mentioned in his comment) my perspective.  Specifically, I have come down with a case of the ‘poor, poor, pitiful me’ narcissism.  The perfect cure for this ailment:

If you have not seen this movie, I definitely recommend it.  The fact that is a true story only makes it that much more of an inspiration.

I am in awe at the power of the song, Amazing Grace, more so in the story of the man who wrote it.  But I am humbled beyond measure and forever grateful for the man who was inspired by it.  For those of you who are not familiar with the movie, it is the story of William Wilberforce, the politician who dedicated his life to ending the slave trade in Great Britain.

It is possible for one person to change the world.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2010 in Confessions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Media Misunderstanding and Modern Inspiration

  1. Richard Scott

    May 29, 2010 at 5:31 AM

    Fionna, pardon me if I only respond to one part of your post (and in so doing perhaps show myself as shallow)

    I understand your take on movies, and how they can (and do) reach out and touch people.

    I agree, too, in a way, about their being no bad movies. There are certainly bad movie reviews. There are certainly movies that I will not see (slasher, overly violent, for example), but there are movies I will watch over and over.

    Last night I watched Zero Effect for the eleventy-ninth time. There is a scene in it where Bill Pullman describes the murder of his mother. It is truly masterful.

    Movies can pick up up in our homes and put us down–like a tornado–a million miles away.

    One day I watched “Primer”, a very low budget movie four times in a row. I watched it two times normally, then once with the commentary on, then once more to integrate what I learned in the commentary. (Yes, this is one of THOSE movies. You may have to watch it many many times to pick up all the nuance.)

    OK, sorry for taking up so much time about the silver screen, but I couldn’t help it. Your post just sort of punched my starter button.

     
  2. nrhatch

    May 29, 2010 at 5:00 AM

    Very true. Once person can change the world.

    And pity parties rarely take us where we want to go:

    http://nrhatch.wordpress.com/2010/03/06/create-the-life-of-your-dreams-part-2/

     
  3. Mid-Thirty Misfit

    May 29, 2010 at 1:26 AM

    I will definitely put it on my “to watch” list.

     
 
