RSS

No Witty Title

25 May

I surf various blogs on various sites and I am amazed at the imagination and creativity of people.  I wonder if the medium of the internet is recognized by the ‘intellectuals’ of the world.  I wonder now if there truly is such a thing as an ‘intellectual’.

What does that mean anyway?

I don’t see anywhere other than the internet where ideas can be connected in new and interesting ways.  The real genius of modern society is available for anyone who knows where to look, unfortunately, it is not always easy to know where to look.

I have tried to find individuals in various fields, bloggers like myself, to share ideas with.  So far, only fellow writers have responded with any degree of interest.  And they say that writers are a solitary bunch… they are wrong.  In my experience writers thrive at meetings of the mind.

So, I am here, sending out my little plea for help.  I am in need of discussion on diverse topics.  I have become stagnant in my own mind and this condition only seems to worsen when I ‘cold call’ or search blindly for someone to ‘talk’ to on any given issue.  For example, I would have loved further discussion on Self-Concept but it just did not happen.

I just passed a blog milestone, over 1,000 visits to the site.  I thought that by the time I reached that marker that I would be comfortable with the blog and that I would have found a theme.  I feel just as unsure as I was the first week or so, I actually think that I have gotten worse at the whole thing.

I don’t know, maybe this insecurity will pass, maybe tomorrow I will wake up and have something I want to say, but right now… I think that right now I have been done in by reality and the abstract and insight are lost to me.

I see the spark in other blogs around the world wide web, I feel the teasing warmth of inspiration, I sense Truth hiding around the corner but my reflexes are slow and I can’t grab hold.  I would rather put forth posts full of ideas and passion, not posts such as this one, confused and numbed by the pressures of the world.  But as it is, that is where I am, this is what I’ve got.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 25, 2010 in Confessions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “No Witty Title

  1. Fionna Larcom

    May 28, 2010 at 3:57 PM

    Richard, thank you for your consistent support, don’t know what I would do without you.

    My perspective has made another shift and I am enjoying this view.

     
  2. nancycurteman

    May 25, 2010 at 3:58 PM

    You may feel you have nothing to say, but your post projects a sensitivity that speaks to everyone’s need for supportive intellectual stimulation. Sometimes we get so bogged down in the trivia of our daily lives that we begin to feel bland and boring, even to ourselves.

     
    • Fionna Larcom

      May 28, 2010 at 3:55 PM

      Thank you Nancy,

      You actually hit on the exact thing that has been bothering me… daily Life…. for the past several years my life has been a brand new adventure every day, whether I am on the road or in school, I was receiving new input for my brain to process and it didn’t take much effort on my part. Now I actually have to ‘engage’ in order to get that new input.

      I DO want to stay in one spot and I DON’T want to be in school, so I have to figure out what it is I want to fill my days with. Aside for looking for a job, that is…
      hope all is well

       
  3. Richard Scott

    May 25, 2010 at 5:19 AM

    Ah, Fionna, but this post reaches out with clarity. You make your point well.

    One thing seems to be true in the world. We eventually find what we are looking for. I don’t mean that in any metaphysical way, but more like a perceptional shift. We are, after all, evidence gatherers.

    It’s like when you decide to buy a new (or used) car, but haven’t done so yet. Suddenly, everywhere you look you see that car.

     
 
