RSS

Brain Negotiation and Navigating the Psyche

18 Apr

I am still somewhat lost, however, I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel (is that a candle I see?).   Thank you for your patience and understanding.

As I said, I have been shuffling files, I have been trying to do this for about five month’s now but have managed to put it off.   For someone as scattered as I am this procrastination results in the inability to find anything, ever.

It started with a picture that JJ was talking about.  He wanted to show it to someone and as I am the keeper of all things digital, I had  produce it while the story was still fresh.  Big Question:  Which computer?  What folder?  Did I even name the dang thing?  I found it, but only as a matter of luck.

This was taken in New Mexico:

Next to a convenience store in the middle of the desert

Next to a convenience store in the middle of the desert

This is one of about 1700 pictures from the road trip that JJ and I took late last year.  None of which were sorted by location, date, or any other semblance of order.  In essence, I dumped the contents of the digital camera on not one, but two computers….and then proceeded to copy from one computer to the other.  All in all, it is a big messy tangle of pictures.

Repeat this tangle for the music files and documents and you will see my predicament.  Anyway, I wanted to talk about self-concept (I don’t want to stray too far from my path again).  Whilst strolling through my saved ‘single web files’ I came across ‘Self-Concept’ according to the Encyclopedia of Psychology:

  1. Personal Self-Concept facts or one’s own opinions about oneself, such as “I have brown eyes” or “I am attractive”.
  2. Social Self-Concept one’s perception about how one is regarded by others, “people think I have a great sense of humor”.
  3. Self-Ideals what or how one would like to be:  “I want to be a lawyer” or “I wish I were thinner”.

First of all, I hate their examples.  I understand that there is a need for vagueness in examples, but come on… they are talking about SELF-CONCEPT.  My eyes are blue but I really don’t care.

When I think of myself I think “I am a basket-case” or “I am inquisitive” or “I am a self-educator”.  As for other people’s perception of me, I can only guess that they would involve descriptors such as: “strange”, “crazy”, “hyperactive” and lest I forget “sucking black void of negativity”.  I’m still not over that one.

As for the third part of Self-Concept, I was caught by the definition trap.  There are a few different definitions for ‘ideal’ not to mention the various conjugations, (Ideology, Idealism, Idealistic… etc.)  I won’t give you all of the definitions, however, the two in my *handy-dandy for ‘ideal’ are:

Adjective

  1. existing only in the mind, imaginary
  2. of or relating to perfection

noun

  1. a standard of excellence
  2. one regarded as a model worthy of imitation
  3. goal

I would hope for examples that are deeper than a teaspoon.  The original definition (French origin, “existing in the mind”) leaves quite a bit of wiggle room.  But, when I think of Psychology and Encyclopedias, I expect more of an educational approach to definitions.  For example, as a student of Psychology, my mind jumped to the ‘Id’ as in ‘the Id, the ego and the super-ego’.  The ‘Id’, according to psychoanalysts, exists in the subconscious mind and deals with instinctual needs and desires.  Maybe it’s just me, but I don’t see anything instinctual about wanting to be a lawyer or thinner.  I guess this definition was not written by a follower of Freud.

So, with this thought still fresh in my ‘ego’ (*the organized conscious mediator between the person and reality) I continued sorting through files… and a few things clicked together in my brain – the loose strings of Plan D.  I will explain, but not all at once. I don’t want to go off the deep end again.  So, thus begin-eth…

The Question of Self-Concept



 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2010 in Confessions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Brain Negotiation and Navigating the Psyche

  1. Fionna Larcom

    April 18, 2010 at 7:59 PM

    Okay, so now I am scared.

    Seriously, from this point forward I will use information/claims and theories from psychology jornals, if my interpretation is unusual, oh well… they shouldn’t be so dang vague!!!

    “The greatest strides in scientific knowledge occur not through an additive process, but through fundamental changes in basic assumption.” — Rudolf Dreikurs
    Are Psychological Schools of
    Thought Outdated? (1987)

     
  2. Richard W Scott

    April 18, 2010 at 1:47 AM

    You are courageous to tackle this, even more so to do it publicly.

     
 
