RSS

Reparative Repartee (Part 3)

06 Apr
 
 
 

  

September 2009

 

     As I have chosen to postpone the dissection of Plan’s B, C, and D, I find myself hesitant and ‘cautious’ in my conclusion on this matter.  So I think it best to give credit where credit is due.  This three-part disclaimer was inspired by Collin Raye.  I usually keep my writing nondenominational … nothing causes offense as quickly as religion.   I hope that the contextual reference and resulting imagery will find a common thread for all belief systems.  

The Song:

What if Jesus  

Comes Back Like That  

The Lyrics:

Nobody says life is fair
we’ve all got a cross to bear
but when it get’s a little hard to care
just think about Him hanging there

   

  

The cross I bear is Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.  I have decided that this diagnosis is not sufficient reason for me to stop caring.  I made a conscious decision to not become desensitized to what I witnessed – no matter how  painful or horrifying – and I have made a conscious decision to not be defined by trauma, but rather by the insights I have gained from observation and reflection.     

Three  years ago I had a daily intake of seven different prescription medications – none of which were much help.   

Two years ago I began to eliminate them, one at a time.  

Today, I am medication free and walk the fine line between mind over matter. 

 At times my emotional reactions and opinions are stronger or more passionate than expected and are misread as aggression, anger or hostility.   

This is rarely the case.   

Thus endeth the disclaimer.    

         

 
 
 

  

Pleasant Harbour, Arizona

 

   

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2010 in Confessions

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Reparative Repartee (Part 3)

  1. Fionna Larcom

    April 8, 2010 at 5:09 PM

    Truthfully, I never wanted to go on the medication in the first place. An old roommate once told me that when I was ‘up’ I brought everyone up with me, but when I was down, I was like a sucking black void of negativity, from which there is no escape. This really irritated me because I had consciously been staying out of everyone’s way. I went on medication as a way to appease those around me, I only realized later that it wasn’t that I was so deep, it was just that they were shallow…. that’s mean, I know. But it is a fact that experience is education and education is depth. I just couldn’t get that worked up about a snotty boss, I was budsy having flashbacks.

    Wow, I really am in a good mood today, right? Thank you for your comments – I will dig myself out of the void in a minute.

     
  2. Janine

    April 8, 2010 at 4:08 PM

    Fionna… Way to go girl! There IS a fine line between mind over matter and it takes strength to walk that line!

     
  3. Richard W Scott

    April 7, 2010 at 7:55 AM

    Finding the strength to let go of your crutches is a big thing… and it is a lot more complex than most people think.

     
 
