RSS

Generations

19 Mar

     Those who know me know that I like complicated stories.  I like them in movies and books that I read, so it makes sense that the stories I write will have more than one twist and turn.  Generations, which is a brand new name, began as Bloodties.  As both titles hint, this is a story that centers family – in fact a few families.  I do not wish to reveal plot lines, but I do wish to preface the first episode. 

     I usually refer to this story as ‘my vampire story’, but that would be far too simple for my own taste.  The reason I am writing this story in episodic format is purely selfish.  I don’t want to simplify my story.  You see, most novels have one, maybe two, main characters.  The story is propelled by one or both of these characters.  In the world I envision for Generations, events are influenced by a group of people, not just the main characters.  The world I envision is much like our own – with the addition of four other ‘races’ of  people.  Vampires are one of these races, yet they are not the top of the food chain. 

     I suppose this is my attempt at a teaser, I am not a subtle person, so this is probably a poor attempt.  But if by chance your curiosity is piqued, keep an eye out for the category Generations… the first episode will be up soon.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 19, 2010 in Confessions

 

2 responses to “Generations

  1. Fionna Larcom

    March 20, 2010 at 8:45 AM

    I admit that I am a bit tired of them myself. The trend seems to be teenage romantic angst and the concept of being a vampire as the central theme to these stories. While I am all for teenage romantic angst, I much prefer the historic pespective gained from longevity. I would say the focus is more sociological than romantic. Thank you for your comments… I was debating a scene switch, now I am sure.

     
  2. RichardWScott

    March 20, 2010 at 5:41 AM

    While not a big fan of Vampires (I guess I’ve had my fill over the last several years), I am a fan of complex stories, and the thought of additional races piques my interest.

     
 
