RSS

First Confession

18 Mar

     Having wrapped up another round of college finals I feel safe in saying I learn more outside the classroom than I do inside.  This is no reflection on my teachers, some of whom are great sources of inspiration and encouragement (shout out to EK the greatest Philosophy professor a girl could ask for) but rather a reminder of how much knowledge I gain from a writers curiosity.  Every story idea requires research, and research – no matter the topic – inevitably leads to more ideas.  More importantly, it leads to great conversation.

    I once had a roommate who said that I could find something in common with everyone.  Now this is a bit of a stretch, but not much.  I can usually find a common interest with those I meet… I have many interests.  The greatest source of ideas for me has been, and always will be, conversation.  As a writer, I am stuck inside my own brain.  No matter how many ways I turn a subject over, I am still only one point of view.  To make a story truly come to life a writer must splinter that point of view, they must speak through the mouths of many.  The best way to do that is to listen.

     Like many writers I have several works in progress.  Some come in the form of a rough draft nine hundred pages and counting, some are on the back of a fast food napkin, some are just outside the reach of conscious mind, but all require research.  The trouble with having so many projects, and so much research, is finding the time and focus to put proverbial pen to paper and write.  My haven as a writer has always been coffee shops.  Coffee shops are also my favorite environment for conversation.  This blog is my concession to both.

     In ten days I will leave the relative obscurity of my tiny RV resort in Washington state.  JJ, Bailey and myself will hitch trailer to truck and head East.  While our ultimate destination is still under discussion, a visit to the local coffee shop will be a daily occurence… wherever that coffee shop .  Whether progress is made on story or conversational research, I shall make my confession here.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on March 18, 2010 in Confessions

 

One response to “First Confession

  1. RichardWScott

    March 18, 2010 at 9:02 PM

    Loved it. Best of luck on your trip!

     
 
